Paddling for Will. A Beautiful Soul. CFIDS.

 I have been writing Very Lucky Girl on Valcyte for 3 years and 3 months now. During this time, I have shared our families journey on Valcyte along with some of the lessons we have learned along the way. We have opened our lives to readers in the hopes that some patients will gain more knowledge about their diseases.

Very few  full recovery cases have been documented for CFS/CFIDS. Blake’s’ case is miraculous, yet for 6 years he stood on the edge of a cliff. He stared into the abyss of the unknown. It is for youth that stand on this cliff, that I continue to write and continue to progress towards an agenda seeking political action on behalf of diseases linked with CFIDS/CFS/GWI/PTSD/MS/ALS/Autism and Lyme Disease.

I receive many comments on this blog and I respond to each one individually. The comments have been the most rewarding part of writing this blog. I have had the opportunity to speak with parents and youth around the world who are experiencing the same journey as Blake and I have endured. Together, we travel this road. Together, we face our hurdles.

On January 20, 2012 at 8:55 pm I received a comment on the blog from a young man named Will. Will explained that he identified with Blake in many ways. I replied immediately to Will that evening and commended him for seeking medical attention with a well-known doctor. In my heart, I sensed that Will was very much like Blake. They both were runners, they both were good students, they both had lost weight and they both had lost the ability to cognitively understand reading materials. The similarities were haunting and familiar. Will was around 21 years old, Blake was 23 years old.

I did not hear from Will again. Today, he crossed my mind so I went to email him to see how he was doing. The last I heard, he was making a decision on what route to take with his medical treatment. I was curious to see how this was going for him and how he was feeling.

Instead of emailing Will, I decided to Google him. It was a sixth sense judgement call that sprang from pure intuition. As I pushed the “search button” to Google Will the links started to appear. My eyes shut tight, they immediately began to swell as tears flowed down my cheeks and sobs began emulating from my throat. Will passed away on May 17, 2012 after battling this neuro-immune disease for 7 years. He passed away 4 months after writing to me.

I began to read more about Will through the obituary and articles. Will had turned to music as did Blake. I listened to Wills’ awesome tunes.  I re-read his emails and I could feel his resilience and beautiful soul. I watched a YouTube Video of the Paddle for Will Memorial. I watched the faces of Wills family, his friends, his community in the video. This beautiful soul was surrounded by so much love, so much compassion and such positive energy that I felt enlightened to have had a glimpse of Will through simple email messages.

Will wrote to me because he was looking for answers. Now I search for answers from Wills’ life.

I grew up in a beach town, body surfing. Recently, I have gone back to swimming. Every time I paddle out, my heart shall connect with Will. He was an amazing young man and a beautiful soul.

My heart and condolences go out to the Bonsey family, Wills friends and the community of Laguna Beach who supported this young man. Next week, I shall be in Southern California. Both Blake and I will visit Laguna Beach to Honor Will.

RIP Will Taylor Bonsey.

JULIA HUGO RACHEL

VERY LUCKY GIRL ON VALCYTE

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

